Log in
Log in


Dr. Faden is one of the founding members of the National Neurotrauma Society and has mentored numerous students, residents, and fellows at both the pre-doctoral and post-doctoral level.

This award signifies the profound commitment that Dr. Faden has shown toward the support and development of new researchers in the field of neural injury.

The intent of the award is to encourage new researchers to enter the field of neurotrauma research, perhaps focusing on the neurobiology of Neurotrauma as Dr. Faden has done. This award was established by a generous donation from one of Dr. Faden’s former students, Rohit Bakshi, MD, and the Bakshi family.

Today, this award represents the fourth best award in the trainee poster competition.

award details

AWARD: $500.00 and engraved art glass trophy presented at the annual Symposium

RECIPIENTS: Fourth ranked trainee poster presentation at Annual Symposium, after Goldberger, Goldstein and WiNTR awards

HOW APPLY: Inclusive of Trainee Poster Competition

ELIGIBILITY: Abstract selected as top ranked amongst those submitted for the annual symposium


William O'Brien, 2023
James Hong, 2022
Jan Frankowski, 2021
Ali Izaddi, 2019
Andrea Schneider, 2018
 Ryan Hirschi, 2017
Miriam Aceves, 2016
 Naima Lajud Avila, 2015
 Starlyn Okada, 2014
Jenna Ziebell, 2013
Andrea Mountney, 2012
Tapan Patel, 2011
 Joseph Loverde, 2010
 Lamin Han Mbye, 2009
Sakina Thawer, 2008
Joshua Bell, 2007
Diana CIttely, 2006
Gene Gurkoff, 2005


The Bakshi family, represented by Rohit Bakshi, MD, made a personal donation of $10,000 to the National Neurotrauma Society, which was placed into a Morgan Stanley investment account to establish this award. Interest obtained on the principal combined with the principal should ensure that the award will be maintained for a minimum of 20 years. Dr. Bakshi plans to continue the award in the future through his family's future donations and those of Dr. Faden and other trainees who will become aware of the award fund.

The National Neurotrauma Society is a 501( c )(3) tax exempt non-profit organization registered in the state of Texas. | © 1995-2023 NNS. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software