Log in

Log in

NNS Members-only Roundtable: Getting your Manuscript Published…on the first submission!

2023-04-17 1:06 PM | Anonymous

Please join us for our next NNS members-only roundtable discussion titled "Getting your Manuscript Published…on the first submission!" scheduled for April 26, 2023 at 5:00 ET. 

Register now at:


Dr. David W. Wright, (Neurotrauma Society Council and Co-Host) is the tenured Professor & Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine.  He directs the Center for Innovation and Discovery in the Acute and Emergent Sciences (IDEAS) and the Emergency Neurosciences Clinical Laboratory in the Department of Emergency Medicine. He is a board certified emergency medicine physician practicing at Emory affiliated hospitals and Grady Memorial Hospital, Atlanta’s premier Level 1 Trauma Center. He is actively involved in both the preclinical and clinical assessments of traumatic brain injury, stroke and other acute neurological conditions. He holds an adjunct appointments in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, the Rollins School of Public Health, and the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing.

Dr. Bridgette D. Semple, Ph.D. (Co-Host) is an Associate Professor and Head of the Pediatric Neurotrauma Group in the Department of Neuroscience at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia. Her research program broadly focuses on understanding the biological mechanisms by which traumatic brain injuries lead to chronic outcomes (behavioral deficits, epilepsy, inflammation, neuropathology, etc.), particularly when injury is sustained during early life. She is an active member of the NNS Council, Co-Chair of the Publications Committee (Past-Secretary and Past-Chair of the Membership Committee) and a Council member for the International Neurotrauma Society. 

Dr. Helen Bramlett is a Professor of Neurological Surgery at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and a Research Health Scientist at the Bruce W. Carter Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center. Dr. Bramlett is an internationally recognized scientist with over 25 years of experience in the field of CNS injury. She is currently funded by NIH, the State of Florida and the VA. Dr. Bramlett is Editor-in-Chief of Neurotrauma Reports and is on the Editorial Boards of Journal of Neurotrauma, Translational Stroke Research, and Therapeutic Hypothermia and Temperature Management.  She is a founding member of InflamaCORE, LLC, a company dedicated to treating and diagnosing inflammatory injury and disease.

Dr. David Loane is an Associate Professor of Neuroscience in the School of Biochemistry and Immunology, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland, and Adjunct Associate Professor at the Shock, Trauma, and Anesthesiology Research (STAR) Center at the University of Maryland School of Medicine (UMSOM), Baltimore, MD, USA.  Dr. Loane leads a multi-disciplinary research team dedicated to studying brain/systemic inflammation and chronic injury responses following TBI. The mission of his group is to elucidate the pathophysiological mechanisms underlying post-traumatic neuroinflammation, neurodegeneration and loss of neurological function, and to develop novel treatment strategies for neuroprotection and post-traumatic repair that will translate to the clinic for human head injury. 

Dr. W. Dalton Dietrich is Scientific Director at The Miami Project to Cure Paralysis and the Kinetic Concepts Distinguished Chair in Neurosurgery at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine.  He received his Ph.D. from the Medical College of Virginia and completed a postdoctoral fellowship at Washington University. Dr. Dietrich joined the Department of Neurology in 1981 and in 1997 became the Scientific Director of The Miami Project. Dr. Dietrich also serves as the Senior Associate Dean for Discovery Science, the Co-Director of the Neural Engineering Institute and the Associate Director of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute. Dr. Dietrich’s laboratory is focused on clarifying the pathophysiology of brain and spinal cord injury with the goal of developing and translating new therapies to protect and enhance recovery. Over the last 40 years, Dr. Dietrich and colleagues have studied the molecular injury mechanisms underlying neurological disorders including stroke, traumatic brain and spinal cord injury. He is the Sponsor of a first-in-man FDA approved clinical trial testing the safety and benefits of human Schwann Cell transplants in people with spinal cord and peripheral nerve injury. His research programs are supported by the NIH, Department of Defense, State of Florida and various Foundations. He has published over 400 peer reviewed publications in high impact journals and mentors graduate and postdoctoral fellows. He serves on several study sections and is Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of Therapeutic Hypothermia & Temperature Management and Deputy Editor of the Journal of Neurotrauma. 

David L. Brody, M.D., Ph.D., is the director of the Center for Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine (CNRM) and a professor of Neurology within the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda, Maryland. He is a board-certified neurologist with both a research and a clinical specialization in traumatic brain injury (TBI) and neurodegenerative diseases. His research focuses on accelerating better outcomes for U.S. military TBI patients. Dr. Brody is the Editor-in-chief of Journal of Neurotrauma.

The National Neurotrauma Society is a 501( c )(3) tax exempt non-profit organization registered in the state of Texas. | © 1995-2024 NNS. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software