Log in

Log in


This award was the second named award established by the National Neurotrauma Society.

Rear Admiral Murray Goldstein DO, MPH, FAAN, FAOCOPM, USPHS (ret.) is a physician, with resident training in internal medicine and neurology, and with research training in epidemiology and clinical research. Dr. Goldstein served as the Assistant Surgeon General of the US Public Health Service. At the National Institutes of Health for 40 years, he served for 11 years as the Director for the National Institute of Neurological Diseases and Stroke. During his tenure at the NINDS, he supported studies in TBI and coined the phrase "the silent epidemic".
Dr. Goldstein was instrumental in making sure Neurotrauma was recognized at the NIH as an important neuroscientific field deserving support. Following his retirement from the USPHS, he served as Director of the United Cerebral Palsy Research and Educational Foundation from 1993-2005 and medical consultant to the United Cerebral Palsy Association. He is now a medical research consultant to several national organizations and the US government.

award details

Award: $500.00 and engraved art glass trophy presented at the annual Symposium

How Apply: This award is presented annually by the National Neurotrauma Society as part of the abstract competition. The submission process can be found at Trainee Poster Award.

Past Winners

Melissa Henwood, 2023
Mackenzie Bolen, 2022
Katherine Giordano, 2021
 Margo Randelman, 2019
Ann  Hoffman, 2018
 Bevan Main, 2017
 Allan Martin, 2016
Laurena Holleran, 2015
 Alexandra Ulyanova, 2014
 Shaun Carlson, 2013
 Victoria Johnson, 2012
Gregory Hawryluk, 2011
Jason Hinzman, 2010
John Greer, 2009
 Victoria Johnson, 2008
 Saafan Malik, 2007
Ali Jahed, 2006
 Iris Kulbatski, 2005
 Pablo Goetz, 2004
 Daniel Becerra, 2003

The National Neurotrauma Society is a 501( c )(3) tax exempt non-profit organization registered in the state of Texas. | © 1995-2024 NNS. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software