Log in
Log in


The National Neurotrauma Society named this award in honor of Dr. Marmarou in 2010. Today, this award represents the fifth best award in the trainee poster competition.

"Absence of proof is not proof of absence"

Dr. Marmarou was a thought leader in the field of Neurotrauma, in which his scientific exploration of intracranial pressure dynamics in traumatic brain injury changed the clinical management of injury. Well known for his commitment to research on TBI and Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus, Dr. Marmarou was considered a world authority on fluid dynamics within the brain and spinal cord. His tireless efforts to communicate the results of his scientific studies on the global front earned him an international reputation as an outstanding scholar and scientist.

Dr. Marmarou has been honored for his work by Brazilian, English, French, German, Greek, Japanese, and Turkish Neurosurgical Societies. In particular, his collaborative efforts with Dr. Katsuji Shima, Chairman of Neurosurgery of the National Defense Institute in Japan established global standards for the care and management of intracranial pressure following TBI.

Prior to 2010, this award was known as the National Neurotrauma Society Award.

award details

AWARD: $500.00 and engraved art glass trophy presented at the annual Symposium

RECIPIENTS: Fifth ranked trainee poster pre­sen­tation at Annual Symposium, after Goldberger, Goldstein, Hovda, and Faden awards

ELIGIBILITY: Abstract selected as top ranked amongst those submitted for the annual symposium

HOW APPLY: Included in the Trainee Poster Competition


Jonathan Birabaharan, 2023
Melissa DiFabio, 2022
Marina Levochkina, 2021
Yueqiang Fu, 2019
Kathryn Wofford, 2018
Ahmed Alshareef, 2017
Kristina Witcher, 2016
James Hong, 2015
Emily Swartz, 2014
Tyler Demarest, 2013
Andrea Mountney, 2012
 Kendall Walker, 2011
Patrick Alford, 2010
Yevgenia Miranova, 2009
Laura Sundberg, 2008
Samir Patel, 2007
 D. Kacy Cullen, 2006
Diana Cittely, 2005

The National Neurotrauma Society is a 501( c )(3) tax exempt non-profit organization registered in the state of Texas. | © 1995-2023 NNS. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software