9037 Ron Den Lane, Windermere FL 34786
(407) 876-0750
menu item params = 0
global menu param =

The National Neurotrauma Society offers a limited number of Diversity Fellowships which include funds for registration, lodging, and airfare to attend the annual meeting.


  1. Any trainee from an underrepresented group may apply.
  2. Applicants do not need to be members of the NNS or AANS.
  3. Applicants must be first (presenting) author of a submitted abstract.
  4. Applicants may not have received a Travel Award from NNS in the past 2 years.
  5. There is no limit on the number of applications from one lab, however, no more than 1 grant will be awarded to any one lab.


Step One:  Register and submit your abstract online. Then you will have access to the travel award application form.

Step Two: The online form will collect general information and request that you upload, in PDF format, the following documents (How to convert MS Word Documents to PDF Documents?):

  1. A full curriculum vitae. (Sample CV)
  2. A cover letter containing a statement about your career goals and about how attending the NNS meeting will support these career goals.

Step Three: Submit online form and then view the accuracy of your application. You will be able to edit it until the application process closes.

If there are any questions about the application process, please email them to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

To apply for a travel award, you must register online, then submit an abstract in order to activate the travel award application section.  In the unlikely event your abstract is not accepted, a refund for your registration fee may be requested.


The National Neurotrauma Society offers a limited number of Diversity Fellowships which include funds to be used for registration, lodging and/or airfare to attend the annual meeting.  A total of 7 Diversity grants in the amount of $750 each were awarded this year.

The 2019 Diversity Grant awardees are:

Hana Abdirahman
Ivette Bañuelos
Martina Hernandez
Briana Martinez
J. Bryce Ortiz
Epiphani Simmons
Jennifer Yonan