9037 Ron Den Lane, Windermere FL 34786
(386) 433-4022

Symposium Awards

menu item params = 1
global menu param =

This award aims to recognize a female researcher that has made a notable scientific contribution in field of neurotrauma and has made recent impactful contributions to education, mentoring or advocacy. Application for this award may be submitted by an NNS member applying for themselves or nominating someone else.

The purpose of this award is to facilitate NNS meeting attendance to scientists within 5 years of completing postdoctoral or residential training. This award will be bestowed to an applicant that has made a significant contribution in the field of TBI/SCI within the past year.

This award was originally established to recognize excellence in behavioral neuroscience. Today, this award represents the top award in the trainee poster competition.

This award was the second named award established by the National Neurotrauma Society. Today, this award represents the second top award in the trainee poster competition.

Dr. Faden is one of the founding members of the National Neurotrauma Society and has mentored numerous students, residents, and fellows at both the pre-doctoral and post-doctoral level.

The National Neurotrauma Society named this award in honor of Dr. Marmarou in 2010. Today, this award represents the fifth best award in the trainee poster competition.

Dr. Hovda’s trainees and colleagues have collectively endowed a Research Excellence Award in his name, because their lives and careers have been influenced directly by his training, mentorship and friendship.

The National Neurotrauma Society offers two types of trainee awards to ensure that undergraduate students, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows are given every opportunity to attend the conference and present their work.

Cranial Trauma & Spinal Trauma Awards

The National Neurotrauma Society has long been an enthusiastic supporter of its young investigators.  Education, mentorship, and the creation of opportunities have been prominent among NNS members.

This annual award can be presented at the Annual Symposium to an individual in recognition of their contributions to the field of Neurotrauma.

The TEAM Neurotrauma – Visiting International Scholar Award (TEAM-VISA) was established to promote international networking opportunities, and to advance the early careers of women Neurotrauma researchers.