9037 Ron Den Lane, Windermere FL 34786
(386) 433-4022

Symposium Awards

menu item params = 1
global menu param =

To encourage presentation of high quality clinical research at the National Neurotrauma Society Meeting, two awards will be offered for clinical research presented by a medical student, resident, fellow, or early-career attending within 3 years of completion of their residency.  

The recipient must be a member of either the AANS or CNS.   If the recipient is a medical student, resident, or fellow their research mentor must also be a member of either the AANS or CNS. One award will be given for cranial trauma and one for either spine or peripheral nerve trauma however the judges reserve the right to issue both awards in either category.  The $1000 cash awards will honor outstanding abstracts presented as either oral posters or exhibited posters at the meeting judged on the basis of scientific merit, clinical relevance and innovation.  

Abstracts selected for presentation (either oral or poster) will be published in the Journal of Neurotrauma June issue. 

Judging will occur during the first Poster Session on Monday.  Awards will be presented at the Awards Ceremony Dinner on Tuesday evening. 

Spinal Trauma Awardees

Sarah Hodges

2019 - Sarah Hodges, Duke University

2017 - Christopher Ahuja

2016 - Laureen Hachem

Cranial Trauma Awardees

Owen Leary2019 - Owen Leary, Rhode Island Hospital

2017 - Aditya Vendantam

2016 - David Darrow



Award Amount:

$1000.00 and engraved art glass trophy. Each award will be supported by the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Neurotrauma & Critical Care.

Targeted Recipients:

AANS/CNS member poster presentations


Abstract selected as top ranked amongst those submitted for the annual symposium by AANS/CNS members

How to Apply:

N/A. Inclusive of Trainee Poster Competition

Administrative Structure:

The funds are administered by the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Neurotrauma & Critical Care.

Source of Funding:

The AANS/CNS Joint Section on Neurotrauma & Critical Care provides up to $2,000 annual in funding for these awards.