9037 Ron Den Lane, Windermere FL 34786
(386) 433-4022
menu item params =
global menu param =

Anthony Marmarou Award

The National Neurotrauma Society named this award in honor of Dr. Marmarou in 2010. Today, this award represents the fifth best award in the trainee poster competition.

"Absence of proof is not proof of absence"

Kristina Witcher
Kristina Witcher,
Ohio State University,
2016 award winner

Dr. Marmarou was a thought leader in the field of Neurotrauma, in which his scientific exploration of intracranial pressure dynamics in traumatic brain injury changed the clinical management of injury. Well known for his commitment to research on TBI and Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus, Dr. Marmarou was considered a world authority on fluid dynamics within the brain and spinal cord. His tireless efforts to communicate the results of his scientific studies on the global front earned him an international reputation as an outstanding scholar and scientist.

Dr. Marmarou has been honored for his work by Brazilian, English, French, German, Greek, Japanese, and Turkish Neurosurgical Societies. In particular, his collaborative efforts with Dr. Katsuji Shima, Chairman of Neurosurgery of the National Defense Institute in Japan established global standards for the care and management of intracranial pressure following TBI.

Prior to 2010, this award was known as the National Neurotrauma Society Award.

Anthony Marmarou Biography



Award Amount:

$500.00 and engraved art glass trophy

Source of Funding:

National Neurotrauma Society

Targeted Recipients:

Next ranked poster pre­sen­tation at Annual Symposium, after Goldberger, Goldstein, WiNTR and Faden awards


Abstract selected as top ranked amongst those submitted for the annual symposium

How to Apply:

N/A. Inclusive of Trainee Poster Competition

Administrative Structure:

The funds are administered by the National Neurotrauma Society

2019 Yueqiang Fu, University of Florida 

2017 Ahmed Alshareef
2016 Kristina Witcher, Ohio State University
2015 James Hong
2014 Emily Swartz
2013 Tyler Demarest
2012 Andrea Mountney
2011 Kendall Walker
2010 Patrick Alford


2009 Yevgenia Miranova
2008 Laura Sundberg
2007 Samir Patel
2006 D. Kacy Cullen
2005 Diana Cittely

Sign In and Donate now