9037 Ron Den Lane, Windermere FL 34786
(386) 433-4022
menu item params =
global menu param =

Michael Goldberger Award

This award was originally established to recognize excellence in behavioral neuroscience. Today, this award represents the top award in the trainee poster competition.

Michael E. Goldberger, PhD, was a pioneer experimentalist who helped establish that anatomical plasticity was a significant consequence of spinal cord injury, was correlated with, and is likely an important underlying mechanism responsible for, recovery of function after neurotrauma. His early work with Marion Murray, PhD (a life-long collaborator), validated the pioneering studies of Liu and Chambers, and later demonstrated sprouting in a number of spinal cord sensory and motor systems after injury.

Jenna VanRooyen re
Jenna VanRooyen,
University of Kentucky,
2016 award winner
Dr. Goldberger’s unique contribution lay in his ability to devise sensitive tech­niques to assess behavioral recovery, which could then be correlated with ana­tomical evidence for nerve regeneration. His seminal research papers revealed for the first time the capacity of central nervous system axons to sprout or grow into an adjacent denervated area. His work led to promi­sing research on the use of growth factors and fetal transplants to restore function. Dr. Goldberger focused on the nature of behavioral recovery and was a mentor to many well-known investigators studying plasticity and recovery after spinal cord injury.



Award Amount:

$500.00 and engraved art glass trophy

Source of Funding:

National Neurotrauma Society

Targeted Recipients:

Top (1) ranked poster presentation at Annual Symposium


Abstract selected as top ranked amongst those submitted for the annual symposium

How to Apply:

N/A. Inclusive of Trainee Poster Competition

Administrative Structure:

The funds are administered by the National Neurotrauma Society

Image result for John Arena, University of Pennsylvania

2019 John Arena, University of Pennsylvania

2017 Christopher Ahuja
2016 Jenna VanRooyen, University of Kentucky
2015 Jessica Nielson
2014 Jean-Pierre Dolle
2013 Emily Schwartz
2012 Theresa Currier Thomas
2011 Michelle Theus
2010 Jiaqiong Wang
2009 Joshua Bell
2008 Eugene Park
2007 Adam Ferguson
2006 Jing Zhao
2005 Jonathan Lifshitz
2004 Eugene Park
2003 Jonathan Lifshitz
1999 Dana McTigue
1998 James Stone
1997 Philip Popovich
1995 Dorothy Kozlowski

Sign In and Donate now